Assembly Election Results 2021: DMK in Tamil Nadu so far halfway, BJP starts in Assam

The opposition DMK-Congress alliance has crossed the halfway mark in the 234-member Tamil Nadu assembly. DMK and its allies are leading in 139 seats, ruling AIDMK on 96 seats. Are headed for 224 seats. The halfway mark is at 128.
The DMK has not been in power in the state for a decade, and this time the party and the AIADMK are contesting without their close leaders J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi whose death has drastically changed the political landscape.

Also read : Kerala prepares poll results

Tamil Nadu was known to rotate between the two blocks every five years, but Jayalalithaa broke the mold in 2016, winning a second term in the state.
Chief Minister K Palaniswamy is a frontrunner in his home constituency of Edapadi in Salem district and Leader of the Opposition and DMK President MK Stalin is ahead in Kolathur constituency as per initial trends.

The DMK is also ahead in constituencies including Kurinjipadi, Neyveli, Virudhachalam. BJP’s state unit chief L Murugan was ahead in Dharampuram and AIADMK leader and state ministers KC Veeramani and Benjamin were ahead in Joralpet and Maduravoyal.

Also read : Mamta Banerjee defeated BJP’s Suvendu Adikari in Nandigram in the initial count : West Bengal Election Results 2021

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top