19.4 C
Friday, October 22, 2021

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2021: Benjamin List and David MacMillan receive the Nobel Prize for ‘Asymmetric Organocatalysis’

Must read

Best Deals

Shivang Singhhttps://therealityhunt.live/
The best way to predict the future is to create it.

New Delhi: The 2021 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan “for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis”.

Professor Göran K. Hansson, Secretary-General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, announced the winners of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday.

Benjamin List and David MacMillan have developed an ingenious new tool for building molecules known as organocatalysis. Its uses include research into new pharmaceuticals and it has also helped make chemistry greener.

Benjamin List and David MacMillan developed asymmetric organocatalysis, which relies on small organic molecules, independently of each other.

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded jointly to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna “for the development of a method of genome editing”.

Due to the pandemic, this year’s Nobel Prize celebrations are a combination of virtual and physical events. The Nobel Prize medals and the Nobel Prize diploma will be received by laureates in their home countries in December, according to the Nobel Prize Organization.

Each winner will receive an amount of SEK 10 million.

The announcement is broadcast live on the official digital channels of the Nobel Prize.

History of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in chemistry has been awarded 112 times, to 186 laureates, between 1901 and 2020. Frederick Sanger is the only laureate to have received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry twice, in 1958 and 1980.

The 1901 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Jacobus Henricus van ‘t Hoff “in recognition of his extraordinary service in discovering the laws of chemical dynamics and osmotic pressure in solutions”.

Marie Curie, née Sklodowska, was the first woman to receive the Nobel Prize in chemistry. She received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1911 “in recognition of her services to the advancement of chemistry by the discovery of the elements radium and polonium, by the isolation of radium and the study of the nature and compounds of this. remarkable element ”.


- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

Recommended Deal