2021 Nobel Prize in Physics: Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi jointly receive the Nobel Prize in Physics

New Delhi: The 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded on Tuesday jointly to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi “for their revolutionary contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”.

Half of the prize was awarded jointly to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann “for physical modeling of the Earth’s climate, quantification of variability and reliable prediction of global warming”.

The other half of the Prize was awarded to Giorgio Parisi “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from the atomic scale to the planetary scale”.

The Secretary-General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Professor Göran K. Hansson, has announced the winners of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics.

New methods for describing complex systems such as Earth’s climate, and predicting their long-term behavior, are recognized by this year’s Noble Prize in Physics.

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded jointly to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez.

Roger Penrose received the Nobel Prize for “the discovery that the formation of black holes is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity”. Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez received the award for “the discovery of a compact supermassive object at the center of our galaxy”.

Interestingly, the three winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2020 were awarded for their groundbreaking discoveries on black holes.

History of the Nobel Prize in Physics

Between 1901 and 2020, the Nobel Prize was awarded 114 times to 216 laureates. There is a scientist who received the Nobel Prize in Physics twice – John Bardeen won it once in 1956, and then again in 1972.

Marie Curie was the first woman to win the Nobel Prize in Physics. She won the Nobel Prize twice, the first time in physics in 1903, and the next time in chemistry in 1911.

Maria Goeppert-Mayer was the second woman to receive the Nobel Prize in Physics. She won the award at age 57, for her work on the structure of the nuclear envelope of atoms.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry to be announced tomorrow

Due to the pandemic, the Nobel Prize celebrations this year will be a combination of virtual and physical events. The Nobel Prize medals and the Nobel Prize diploma will be received by laureates in their home countries in December, according to the Nobel Prize Organization.

Each winner will receive an amount of SEK 10 million.

The Nobel Prize in chemistry will be announced on Wednesday.

The Nobel Prize for Literature will be announced on Thursday.

The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday.

The Nobel Prize in Economics will be announced on Monday, October 11.

The announcements will be broadcast live on the official digital channels of the Nobel Prize Organization.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top