Goa Polls: Congress Releases First List Of Candidates

Goa Polls- The Congress Party on Thursday announced its first slate of candidates for Goa’s legislative elections due early next year.

According to the list of eight candidates announced, former chief minister Digambar Kamat is expected to compete from Margao.
The candidates selected by the Central Election Commission of the Congress Party for the upcoming Goa Assembly elections are:

Sudhir KanolkarMapusa
Tony RodriguesTaleigao
Rajesh VerenkarPonda
Sankalp AmonkarMarmugao
Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco Curtorim
Digambar Vasant Kamat Margao
Yuri AlemaoCuncolim
Altone D’CostaQuepem

Goa Pradesh Congress President Girish Chodankar last month said a large part of the candidates would be young and new. He also reiterated that MPs who defected and joined other parties would not be taken into consideration.

“The process of shortlisting candidates for the Goa elections(Goa Polls) will accelerate as the AICC has announced the establishment of a selection committee for Goa. At least 70-80% of the Congressional candidates will be young and new,” he said. he said, quoted by the PTI news agency.

Chodankar had also informed that the party’s bloc committees would be kept confidential when selecting candidates.

The Assembly election in Goa has yet to be announced by the Election Commission. It should take place early next year.

Meanwhile, during her recent visit to Goa, Congress Secretary-General Priyanka Gandhi Vadra pledged 30 jobs per quota for women if her party came to power in the coastal state.

Claiming that the ruling BJP’s ideology was “anti-women,” she assured the Congressional government would provide a grant of up to Rs 1 lakh each to women’s self-help groups in addition to the initial funding so that their business can thrive and help market their products.

Congress, when elected to power in the state, will reserve 30 percent of jobs only for women, she said.

Read more: Mumbai: CNG, PNG Prices Hiked Once Again

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top