23.9 C
Friday, October 22, 2021

IPL 2021, CSK vs DC: MS Dhoni ends in style as Chennai defeats Delhi in sharp thriller to secure place in final

Delhi bowlers came up with a spirited bowling performance today but it was not enough to stop the "mighty Mahi" from taking his side home!

Must read

Best Deals

Shivang Singhhttps://therealityhunt.live/
The best way to predict the future is to create it.

New Delhi: Legendary skipper MS Dhoni once again finished in style to propel Chennai to a four-wicket victory over Delhi heavyweights in IPL 2021 Qualifier 1 on Sunday at Dubai International Stadium. The Chennai Super Kings are now in the ninth IPL Final. Fans were a bit surprised when Dhoni came out ahead of fit Jadeja, but finisher Dhoni scored 12 points in the final to hunt down the 173-run target and secure a final place for the Yellow Army.

In addition to Dhoni’s exploits, the 100 run partnership of veteran Robin Uthappa (63) and star young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad for the second wicket set the tone for the pursuit. Delhi bowlers put on a lively bowling performance today, but that wasn’t enough to stop the “mighty Mahi” from bringing his side home!

Besides the Delhi bowlers, Shreyas Iyer provided two important wickets in Delhi on two occasions – a sensational outing and a brilliant catch on the line-up.

Earlier, the Chennai Super Kings, who have a 100% winning record while beating second this season, opted to play first against Delhi. CSK bowlers were brilliant with the ball in the starts as Delhi had lost four wickets for 80 run in 11 overs, but excellent recovery from hitters Rishabh Pant and Shimron Hetmyer brought them back into the game.

DC opener Prithvi Shaw emerged as the star among top-notch batsmen as he shone with a brilliant 60-run inning after Hazlewood knocked out Shreyas Iyer and Shikhar Dhawan inside the game. power. Following his sacking, Pant and Hetmyer sewed a solid 83 run stand to help Delhi put a solid 1st inning total on board.

Delhi Capitals playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Shreyas Iyer, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Tom Curran, Avesh Khan, Anrich Nortje

Chennai Super Kings playing XI: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood


CSK scorecard:

Ruturaj Gaikwadc Axar b Avesh705052
Faf du Plessisb Nortje1200
Robin Uthappac Iyer b Curran634472
Shardul Thakurc Iyer b Curran0100
Ambati Rayudurunout (Iyer/Rabada)1300
Moeen Alic Rabada b Curran161220
MS Dhoninot out18631
Ravindra Jadejanot out0000
Total: 173-6 in 19.4 Overs
Anrich Nortje40311
Avesh Khan40471
Kagiso Rabada30230
Axar Patel30230
Tom Curran3.40293
R Ashwin20190

Delhi Capitals’ scorecard

Prithvi Shawc Hazlewood b Jadeja603473
Shikhar Dhawanc Dhoni b Hazlewood7710
Shreyas Iyerc Gaikwad b Hazlewood1800
Axar Patelc (sub) Santner b Moeen101110
Rishabh Pantnot out513532
Shimron Hetmyerc Jadeja b Bravo372431
Tom Currannot out0100
Total: 172-5 in 20 Overs
Deepak Chahar30260
Josh Hazlewood40292
Shardul Thakur30360
Ravindra Jadeja30231
Moeen Ali40271
Dwayne Bravo30311


- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

Recommended Deal