India announces 15-member squad for WTC Final

WTC Final : The Cricket Control Board in India has announced the 15-player squad for the ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand starting June 18 in Southampton.

The players who will not be part of the original 20-member squad that toured England are: Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shardul Thakur, Mayank Agarwal, Washington Sundar.

Virat Kohli will lead the team while Ajinkya Rahane will be vice-captain.

India’s squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha.

ALSO READ New Zealand became the world’s number one test team!

The team has six batsmen, two wicket keepers, two versatile spin bowling players, and a five-point guard.

The selection almost confirms that Shubman Gill with his partner Rohit Sharma at the top, missing Mayank. Axar Patel, who replaced Ravindra Jadeja in the home series against England, is out of place despite a successful series. Axar has picked up 27 wickets in three Tests in this series, but India’s strength is such that they can afford to leave it behind.

Washington Sundar, who has also impressed in his brief testing career, misses India to have an ace spinner in R Ashwin.

Shardul Thakur’s absence leaves India with five leaders to choose from Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Umesh Yadav. This is the bowling combination India will think about the most: whether to play four-pointers or three-pointers and two spinners.

India has retained Wriddhiman Saha in the squad, as well as Rishabh Pant who will be the premier wicketkeeper. Pant has been in great contact since touring Australia and has done a century of the intra-team warm-up mockup match at Southampton.

ALSO READ WTC Final winner and runner-up prize money declared

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top