Launch of Soyuz Rocket With 38 foreign satellites deployed by Russia

The launch of the Russian rocket Soyuz, which has 38 foreign satellites, has been postponed until Sunday, Russia’s space station Roscosmos said.

The launch of satellites from more than half a dozen Asian, Arab and European countries, as well as Canada and Brazil, scheduled for 0607 GMT (11:37 am IST) on Saturday, is now scheduled for 0607 GMT on Sunday, with Roscosmos added.

“The launch of the Soyuz-2.1a rocket … with 38 foreign satellites from the Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan has been postponed until the next day,” Roscosmos said.

Space official Dmitry Rogozin said the launch was postponed following the discovery of electricity.

“We have decided not to take any risks,” Rogozin told RIA Novosti.

The rocket was due to launch orbit 38 satellites from 18 countries, including South Korea, Japan, Canada, Saudi Arabia, Germany, Italy and Brazil.

Among them is Challenge-1, the first fully-fledged satellite made in Tunisia, created by the telecommunications group Telnet.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top